IPSA Awards Seven Scholarships For 2015/16


Sponsor Spotlight: IPSA Awards Seven Scholarships For 2015/16

JONESBORO, AR — The Board of Directors and the Education Committee of the Independent Professional Seed Association (IPSA) is very pleased to announce the scholarship awards for the 2015/16 scholastic year.

The Annual Scholarship Awards are $1000. There are three areas of awards:

Myron “Ted” Asplin Foundation Scholarship

This scholarship was created by the Asplin family of Dassel, MN in memory of Myron “Ted” Asplin.

Buckhorn Scholarship

This scholarship was created by Buckhorn, Inc. to benefit the future of Agriculture.

IPSA Student Recognition Award

The IPSA Student Recognition Award was created in 1997 from funds donated by the Independent Corn Breeders Association.

Selection will be based on a combination of academic achievement, community and agricultural involvement.

After reviewing a record number of 68 applicants, the decision was made to increase the IPSA Scholarship Fund and award seven scholarships.

The 2105 Myron “Ted” Asplin Scholarship Winner is Gwen Scheresky. Gwen is a high school senior from Max, ND and plans to major in Ag Econ/Ag Law at NDSU.

The 2015 Buckhorn Scholarship Winner is Megan Jones. Megan is currently attending NDSU from Bowden, ND majoring in Crop and Weed Sciences.

Five students will receive the IPSA Student Recognition Scholarships for 2015: Meredith Adams from Powhatan, Virginia is a senior attending Virgina Tech majoring in Agriculture and Applied Economics – Agribusiness Management; Elizabeth Brown from North Heyworth, IL, attending Purdue University majoring in Agriculture Education; Brian Kerestes attending Streator Township High School in Illinois is planning on majoring in Agronomy and Agriculture Business; Brett Heronimus attending the Universoty of Minnesota is from Ellsworth, MN majoring in Plant Science; and Nolan Rockstad of Ada, MN attending NDSU majoring in Crop and Weed Science.

A special thank you to all of our applicants. The decision on awards was very difficult, as all the students had very strong academic and extracurricular accomplishments.

Congratulations to our seven scholarship recipients in 2015/16! We hope to see them all at the Annual Meeting in St. Louis this January.